Schreiner Mansion

Charles Schreiner’s mansion is one of Kerrville’s most historic buildings, as well as being listed on the National Register of Historic Landmarks. The home was designed by San Antonio architect Alfred Giles, whose designs are seen throughout San Antonio and constructed of native stone.

The first phase of construction was begun in 1879, the second in 1895, and the third added porches and archways in 1897. Captain Charles Schreiner led the community in banking, ranching and mercantile activities.

The former home of Charles Schreiner is located in Kerrville’s downtown historical district next to the now closed Schreiner’s Department Store building at 226 Earl Garrett Street. 

In 1923, Charles Schreiner donated 140 acres & $100,000 for a boys’ military high school & two-year college, known as Schreiner Institute. In 2000, the school formally became Schreiner University, a four-year private liberal arts college.

After Captain Schreiner’s death in 1927, the mansion was sold to the Kerrville Masonic Lodge for use as a Masonic Temple. In 1972 Mrs. Roland Walters of Camp Verde, Texas, purchased the structure and sold it to the Hill Country Preservation Society, Inc., in 1975. 

The Preservation Society made extensive repairs faithful to the original home.  Unique features include several original gas fixtures, mantles, wallpaper, and parquet floor on the first floor.

In the fall of 2009, the Preservation Society donated the mansion and its contents to Schreiner University.